Still Alive And Biking

As you can see from the date of my last post that I’ve been too busy to get a new post up. Shame on me! It’s not because I’ve quit biking, in fact, I’ve been enjoying my rides very much. Life just happens and I’d like to touch bases before I get on with my normal posts.

What’s Happening?

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this in the past but I write poetry. Every week I write with at least 4 different groups of poets and I enjoy it very much but it takes up a lot of my writing time. I’ve been doing this for years now. I often write about photographs I take on my bike rides and make my own animations. Come visit and read my poetry at Capricious Poet.

I have been blogging since around 2008 that’s a long time! I have more blogs than I have time for but I don’t write as much on the older ones. The writer resides deep within my soul and my muse never takes a break only when life interferes.

Deep Sadness

bekkiesbooboy

My beloved cat and 8-year companion Boo had to be put to sleep on May 6th. He was hit with Lymphoma and a bad liver, a double whammy that took him down very fast. It broke my heart in many places and my apartment is so empty without him. He was a very good boy, a lover and a clown that made me laugh and filled my life with smiles.

Birthday Girl

20160511_210634 (1)

May 11th was my 62nd birthday and I spent that week with my best friends in Oakland, CA. Here I am at Spenger’s Fresh Fish Grotto in Berkely where we went to eat that day. (My Jawbone UP3 is on my wrist quietly monitoring.)

20160511_210043.jpg

These 2 are my most favorite people in the world. I had a really good time that week going to 2 movies and taking long walks with Marguerite (on the left) and the dogs. Staying at their house in the Oakland Hills is a real pleasure and break from my small apartment and helped lighten my load. It has been years since I had such a wonderful birthday!

As a side note, CA (on the right) belongs to the famous Oakland Yellow Jackets a biking group that rides all over the Bay Area. Check them out, anyone can join them for rides of all types from beginners to expert.

20160510_063050.jpg

This is the view I had waking up each morning from the Hinton’s living room. The fog would go away by 10 am leaving beautiful and sunny weather all week.

Back Home And Biking

20160521_130822.jpg

It had to happen, all good times must come to an end. Lol! Just look at this view from my ride yesterday! I saw the most beautiful clouds ever on one side of the trail.

20160521_130830.jpg

Only to turn around and see this on the other side. It never did rain and despite the heavy winds we’ve been having I managed to ride 19 miles of blue sky and cloud bliss.

Things are pretty much back to normal and I have a lot more to say about biking and health. What it’s done for me has been amazing and I have a real need to pass it on to you. I’ve not only lost more weight being closer to my goal set last September but I am so much stronger. I joke with people that I just can’t seem to get depressed or run out of energy. The old me would have still been sitting on my ass all day crying and feeling sorry for myself. Different as night and day.

20160521_133716

Check back for more and if you have a blog about biking I’d love to hear about it and visit. Just leave me a link in comments telling me about it.

My bike is my antidepressant, take one with plenty of water and fresh air.

Author: Bekkie Sanchez

I'm a capricious poet that thirsts to write. I was brought into this world wanting to describe it and poetry chose me. I live to create, read and ride my bicycle. Music keeps me grounded. If you like my work it makes it all worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

