Daily Articles-Cycling Sunday

I know I haven’t been writing daily here and I plan on changing that. This is the perfect time to share what I’ve learned this last year about health and biking with you during the winter season when things slow down a bit. (Who am I kidding? Lol!) Not that I’ll quit biking here in the Bay Area, in California, I can bike all year as the weather doesn’t get close to freezing very often.

This was my first summer biking and hitting my target weight in August. Exciting times for me while I made many discoveries about myself and my health. I learned a lot and through strengthening my bad knees with my biking was able to walk for miles again. I was buying awesome new workout clothes, biking in beautiful areas and taking great photos to share. I wasn’t spending much time sitting down to write.

I’m changing all that by starting Cycling Sunday, each week on Sunday I’ll share some things I’ve learned or photographs I’ve taken while riding. Sometimes I’ll write more often but there will be a new post each Sunday starting with this coming Sunday. I hope you will stop by and share with me.

Please don’t be shy either, this site has been awfully quiet with no comments on my posts. I’d love to know what my readers are thinking. I hope it’s not, “What is this crazy old woman mumbling about?”

It’s not summer anymore! My biking wardrobe now includes a knit cap under my brain bucket (helmet), long underwear under my compression jacket (with thumb holes), leather gloves, and a scarf if I need it. I wear compression capri workout pants but my legs don’t get cold enough in this weather. I keep a cheap rain suit (clear pants and coat) in my bike bag and do use it. Keeps me going until springtime.

When my core temperature warms, I get into my target heart-rate zone, my muscles warm up and I feel like I’m flying (a half hour into my ride) there is complete zen. I am one with the world and my rubber on the ground is the only thing holding me to the earth.

Guess I’ll keep biking and writing about it. Lol!

20161206_112728

BTW, I’m putting up more photos on my sidebar. Pictures from my rides on the Bay Trail and riding mates of course! Please be patient as I add them.

Please check back for Cycling Sundays and other articles this winter.

Happy Biking During The Holidays!

Author: Bekkie Sanchez

I'm a capricious poet that thirsts to write. I was brought into this world wanting to describe it and poetry chose me. I live to create, read and ride my bicycle. Music keeps me grounded. If you like my work it makes it all worthwhile.

2 thoughts on “Daily Articles-Cycling Sunday”

Leave a Reply

