Merry Christmas Cyclists!

Tis the season to be jolly but unless you’re lucky enough to live in a state (or country) that stays warm all year you are probably wishing you could ride right about now. The holidays are good that way keeping you too busy to begrudge the cold weather and snow as you clean, trim, shop, and eat your way through the 3 months of major holidays. Hopefully, you’ll get a few presents to open unless you’ve been naughty.

Scumbag-Santa-Claus (1)

I’m lucky enough to ride all year living in the Bay Area in California although I have plenty of friends of all ages who ride in the snow and ice all over the globe. Want to meet some of them?

8c8eb756-7a2d-4ab1-ab8d-9e12560a73cf

I’d like to invite you to join a group I have on a social network called MeWe. When G+ (Google Plus) went away a lot of my friends joined MeWe only to find it wasn’t what we hoped for, however, I started a bike group there called “Let’s Ride” that quickly grew into over 500 members that I couldn’t give up. It’s a great group of wonderful people from all over the world that love to ride, share bike-related posts, ride stats, and more. Even if you don’t need another social network (I know the feeling) I guarantee that you’ll enjoy my group. Check us out by following either link and introduce yourself.

'Dear Santa, if you leave a new bike under the tree, I will give you the antidote to the poison I put in the milk. Timmy.'

Let’s enjoy some Christmas images I found online. Some vintage fun too.

51cOWbBx+JL._SX425_

source.gif

76e06a8a-d9d3-4f8f-b413-b64c38d8e298

How are you spending your Christmas this year? I’ll be riding my bicycle and making a nice meal at home with my cat (Ninja) and roommate. Isn’t she cute in her ugly Christmas sweater? What are your fur babies wearing this Christmas?

20181208_115318

My Christmas sweater (sweatshirt) I got last year. I’d seen it online for many years before getting it but when I did I wasn’t disappointed. Isn’t Christmas all about ugly (or cool) sweaters?

Riding the Bay Trail this year has been beautiful and fulfilling as always. Taking a break off for surgery in August really slowed me down but I’m back at it now. I look forward to the new year with my knee replacements which have only made me better.

e7a3bae3-3687-49c7-adc6-b27fcede528e.gif

I make most of these with PhotoLab by Linerook Investments LTD, an application that makes your photos into all kinds of art on Android or iPhone. You can also spiff up your selfies for social networking. Found wherever you get your phone apps. It’s free but I paid for it years ago and use it often.

It’s raining and 48 degrees outside today but the sun is supposed to show up later. I’m lucky enough to live where I can ride year-round but I do miss snow at times as I grew up in Michigan City, Indiana. I grew up ice skating, sledding, cross-country skiing and more.

14822539709haha1746

image

Grumpy_Xmas-3645a838-b521-31c8-94d1-d489a7a85343

I don’t know if you heard but Grumpy Cat passed away this year. She is still the best and won’t be forgotten because as we now know, once on the internet, always on the internet.

Christmas holds so many hopes and dreams. I hope all of yours comes true and I hope you have a great Christmas! Toasting some eggnog with you, “skoal!”

* About the featured image: The Santa Rampage is coming back to Milwaukee on Saturday, Nov. 30. The Santa Rampage is an annual event in Milwaukee that features hundreds of people in Santa suits – as well as a wide swath of various holiday-themed costumes – riding their bicycles across the city. Over the last five years, it has reached such an esteemed cult-status that even the dodgy weather of the season does not detract from the merriment or the number of riders who participate in these festivities. They also have it in other states like Portland Oregon and the number of states participating grows each year.

Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones!

Author: Bekkie Sanchez

I was brought into this world wanting to describe it and poetry chose me. I live to create, read and ride my bicycle. Music keeps me grounded. If you like my work it makes it all worthwhile.

Leave a comment