Summertime Blues

The summer riding season has flown by so fast! Where does the time go? I had the best intentions to write about biking and health but ended up just enjoying myself. I have a good reason though, let me explain.

20190713_112410

It was a wonderful summer riding the Bay Trail here in San Mateo, CA. From Coyote Point Harbor you can see San Francisco down the peninsula.

I’ve had bad knees for decades starting with a motorcycle accident in the early ’70s that caused me to have surgery on my right knee. Now that I’m 65 that surgery has grown old making that knee unstable while the strain on my left knee (the good knee) caused it to fail and become crooked. This took years to happen, years where I was fine to outdoor roller skate, jog, play sports, and pretty much do anything I wanted. Now I’m paying the price.

20190630_104912

I am going to miss riding my bicycle! In most pictures, I try to hide my knees or I stand to the side so it’s harder to see. One knee is bigger than the other because of scar tissue.

If you read my blog you’ll know my history, if not you can read about it here. I was overweight, depressed, walking with a cane and in bad shape until I decided to exercise regularly by riding my bicycle every other day. Now, almost 4 years later I’m in great shape and my knees are the best they can be. Unfortunately, the best is far from functional. Losing the extra weight and riding my bicycle made my knees stronger and less painful but the damage was done.

I put off doing something about them for far too long but on May 10th something shifted in my left knee and I could barely walk. After seeing my doctor we decided enough was enough. On the 26th (this Monday) I’m having both of them replaced at the same time. They’re also going to straighten my left leg. It’s going to be a long recovery and hard work but I look forward to the end result. Not only that, but my doctor chose my case to use robotics which is going to be awesome.

I will be in the hospital for 2 days and in an acute rehab facility for 1 to 2 weeks so I’m going to be busy. In the rehab facility, they will make sure I’m comfortable and know how to deal when I get home. They will be teaching me how to walk all over again with straight legs. I don’t like to admit it but when I walk now I have a side to side movement and people can clearly notice my bent leg.

20180727_115502 (1)

This is how you keep your bicycle from being ripped off.

I’ll be so glad to get rid of these knees. They click, move on me, give out on me, I can’t do stairs, and cause me a lot of pain. I fall way too much when I stop my bike because putting a leg down doesn’t always mean that leg is going to hold. I fell just last Sunday which I shouldn’t be doing with my surgery is coming up.

Despite all of this I’m very nervous and not sure how long it will take for me to recover fully and get back on my bike which are my main objectives. I’m in good shape because of my bike riding so my doctor says I should recover fast.

I’ll be off my bike for at least 6 weeks and will have to start all over again. It makes me sad when I think about how much work and time it took for me to get into this top physical condition. As long as I come out better and stronger it will be worth it.

I’m not sure how I’ll feel about blogging while this is going on so I won’t make any promises I can’t keep. We’ll see how I feel. I look forward to getting this over with and getting back to the things I love.

20190626_100548

Hoping for the best on Monday and looking forward to better knees, better health and being a better bike rider!

Take care and stay healthy. You can do it! Keep riding your bicycle and eating your spinach. You’ll be hearing from me soon, I still have a lot to share.

“They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do, and something to hope for.”
― Tom Bodett

Author: Bekkie Sanchez

I was brought into this world wanting to describe it and poetry chose me. I live to create, read and ride my bicycle. Music keeps me grounded. If you like my work it makes it all worthwhile.

4 thoughts on “Summertime Blues”

  1. Hello friend Bekkie. Cat here. Long time no see. Wishing you all the best regarding your upcoming surgery. I broke my knee July 2018. I took me 3 months to fully recover and return to work. Sending you a lil video of me training my knee via the water rower. I know, it’s peanuts compared to what you are going through, but hopefully it helps a bit to overcome the nervousness and giving you confidence to succeed. At 63 and 65 we are still young enough to do anything we put our minds to in a positive way. Consider yourself hugged. Love, cat. https://youtu.be/F3kbqoz-XzQ?list=UU2Quq49QsjzAQNsGwsr5l1Q

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry, it took me so long to reply this was right before my surgery day and now it’s over 2 months after. So much has happened that I wrote about on the next post (after this one) with pictures. Lol! Today I will work on a new post because much more has happened (all good.) That is one strange machine I never saw one before but looks like a good workout! You’re looking good Cat. I hope you have a fun Halloween! Used to be one of my favorite holidays but no one dresses up and parties at this age anymore. I used to do the costume competitions at bars and win bottles of Champagne but that was some time ago. Lol! Hope your knee is all healed now.

      Like

  2. Bekkie, I pray that all goes well for you on the 26th. You are in great shape for it and will be up doing rehab quickly . I say this because my friend recently had her knees replaced.
    I watched, cheered and was amazed how quickly she was up doing rehab in a two days. In a month she was walking without and canes and with a very slight limp. Like you, she is active and love training, also she is approaching sixty years of age. Fight hard to get that deep bend and range of motion, we want you back out there. I’m sixty one and still ride. May God our healer be with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment